Register or Renew

Registration indicates that you have paid the taxes and fees associated with your motor vehicle. When you first register your vehicle, you will receive a metal license plate, validation decal and a registration certificate.

Register a Vehicle for the First Time

If you have recently purchased a car, whether it be new or used, there will be a “new wheels on the road” fee of $225. This fee covers the initial application for registration transactions on that vehicle under your name.

To register your vehicle, you will need to bring:

  • The original title
  • Proof of insurance

Registration Expiration

When you register a vehicle under an individual’s name, the license plate and registration are valid until midnight on the day of the driver’s birthday. In the case that you have a commercial vehicle, registrations expire midnight on the last day of May (when registered semi-annually) or December (during annual registration). Mobile home registration also expires on the last day of December.

Renewing Your Registration

Keeping your vehicle registration up-to-date is now simpler than ever. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles has an online portal which allows you to easily renew your registration.
Renew Registration!

License Plate Expiration

Florida requires that all license plates be replaced every 10 years to ensure that they are fully reflectorized and visible for law enforcement.