Certain driving-related violations require drivers to hold additional insurance in the form of an SR-22 or FR-44. The FR-44 form indicates that a driver is covered by additional bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance.
Drivers convicted of a DUI are required to purchase additional insurance. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, anyone with a DUI conviction occurring after Oct. 1, 2007 must provide proof of:
- Bodily injury liability insurance (BIL) in the amount of $100,000 per person, $300,000 per occurrence
- Property damage liability (PDL) in the amount of $50,000
After being convicted of a DUI, your license will be revoked and will not be reinstated until you have met various requirements. One of the requirements is to obtain an FR-44 certificate from your insurance company. In most cases, you will be able to have your insurance company electronically submit the FR-44 filing to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. In order to keep your license, you will need to maintain your certificate for three years from the reinstatement date of the DUI revocation. Remember that there is a license reinstatement fee, and subsequent DUI violations may have a larger reinstatement fee ranging from $150 to $500.
Meeting the FR-44 Requirement
If you have maintained FR-44 insurance for three years from the reinstatement date of the DUI revocation, you should contact the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles (select "insurance suspension") to determine if you still need to hold the FR-44 certificate. Depending on when the DUI occurred, the conviction date, and any changes in laws, you might still be required to maintain the FR-44.