Certain driving-related violations require drivers to hold additional insurance in the form of an SR-22 or FR-44. SR-22 and FR-44 are Certificate of Financial Responsibility forms that verify that you have auto insurance liability coverage.
The SR-22 form certifies that your insurance coverage includes bodily injury liability (BIL) and property damage liability (PDL). In the event that you receive a point suspension, habitual traffic revocation, or were the owner or operator of a vehicle involved in a crash where someone was injured and you weren't covered by BIL coverage at the time, you are required to hold an SR-22 for three years.
If a driver receives a ticket for operating a vehicle without proof od insurance and is found guilty, a six-month non-cancellable SR-22 is required. In this case, the law indicates that the proof of financial responsibility must show the following coverage:
- $10,000 PIP (personal injury protection)
- $10,000 PDL (property damage liability)
Getting a SR-22 Certificate
If you are required to carry an SR-22, you will need to contact your insurance company. In most cases, you will be able to have your insurance company electronically submit the SR-22 filing to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. In the event that your company cannot use this process, you can either mail the certificate in or present it at your local driver's license office.
Failure to provide an SR-22 certificate before the date indicated in the notice will result in the suspension your tags, registration, and driver's license for three years unless compliance is met earlier. If compliance is met after suspension, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee.
Meeting the SR-22 Requirement
If you are unsure of how long you must maintain the SR-22 certificate, you contact the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles (select "insurance suspension").