Getting a Learner's License
If you’re planning to get your license for the first time, there is some valuable information you should know. Florida has established a Graduated Driver Licensing program (GDL) where teen drivers have to meet various milestones before they are issued their full driver’s license. Although this sounds inconvenient, this program helps minimize risks for first-time drivers.
If you are an adult getting your first license click here.
Stages of the GDL program
- Learner’s permit
- Provisional license/Intermediate license
- Driver’s license
How to get a Learner’s permit
- In order to obtain a learner’s permit, you must be at least 15 years old and provide proof that you have completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course.
- A parental consent form must be signed. This form must be signed in the presence of the license examiner or notarized if a parent or guardian will not be present. Anyone that is unmarried and under the age of 18 must have a parent or legal guardian sign their consent form.
- In order to establish proof of your identity, you’ll need to bring some documentation. The documents must provide proof of your identity, social security number and address. Click here to find out which documents you should bring.
Tests & Restrictions
Before you can be issued a permit, you must...
- Pass a 50 question multiple-choice test that covers traffic laws and signs. A passing score is 80%. Visit the 2014 Florida Driver’s Handbook
- Pass a vision test which will be performed using an eye machine. In order to pass, you must have at least 20/40 vision in both eyes with or without corrective lenses.
- Pass a hearing test to ensure you’ll be able to respond to situations on the road where hearing is essential.
Learner’s permit restrictions
Drivers with a learner’s permit must always be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat. With a permit, drivers are restricted to driving during daylight hours only during the first three months, however, following the three month period, drivers are authorized to drive until 10 pm.
Moving to the next stage
Once you have the basics down, you have the opportunity to increase your driving privileges by obtaining an intermediate license. Learn more about intermediate licensing.