It's always a good idea to brush up on the local laws and procedures when you move to a new place. Below are a few options you have that can help you understand what will be required from you as you drive in the Sunshine State.

1. Get a Florida License

If you have an out-of-state driver’s license, you must convert it to a Florida license within 30 days of becoming a resident. With a valid license from your previous state, the hearing, written and driving tests may be waived, however this is done at the discretion of the DHSMV. See Adult First License to learn more.

2. Review the Handbook

There is a plethora of information available to you in the Florida Driver's Manual. If you have an out-of-state license, you likely have had plenty of driving experience, however, the Handbook provides a useful guide that can answer many of the questions you may have. Some sections recommended for new residents to review are:

  • The Point System
  • Insurance Laws
  • Safety Belts
  • Speed Limits
  • Right of Way
  • Sharing the Road
  • Traffic Signs and Pavement Markings
  • Vehicle Equipment Standards

Do you know how many points a speeding ticket will get you on your license? What about if you fail to yield to an emergency vehicle?

Take a moment to review a list of Florida's driving violations to see various driving violations and the points that can get assessed to your license for committing them.

Keep in mind:

  • 12 points within 12 months will get your license suspended for 30 days.
  • 18 points within 18 months will get your license suspended for 3 months.
  • 24 points within 36 months will get your license suspended for 1 year.

3. Learn the Area

Moving to a new place can make everyday travel inconvenient when you don't know the roads. Take some time to learn your routes to your workplace, the nearest grocery stores, along with popular local hotspots. Doing this will prevent you from running late (or getting lost on the way) to your destination, which will go a long way in reducing stress!

4. Take a Driving Course

Besides reviewing some portions of the driving manual and driving violations, new residents can benefit from taking a driving course. By taking an approved defensive driving course, you will be able to learn techniques to become a better driver and have the additional bonus of potentially qualifying for a reduced insurance rate.

Take an approved driving course now, so you can get road ready!